Alan F. Segal: May His Memory Be for a Blessing

Prof. Alan Segal

It is with a heavy heart that I mention the passing of Prof. Alan F Segal, Ingeborg Rennert Professor of Jewish Studies at Barnard College. I was supposed to be in a course with him last semester but his illness prevented him from teaching and he was forced to take an immediate leave of absence. We communicated several times after the cancellation and he read and gave me some encouragement in my work. I also got to see some of what he was working on, which, I believe, was intended for publication. It was quite interesting and I hope it will see the light of day. We were supposed to work together informally but alas we never got the chance.

Prof. Segal is most well known for his two works, Two Powers in Heaven: Early Rabbinic Reports About Christianity and Gnosticism (Brill), and Paul the Convert: The Apostolate and Apostasy of Saul the Pharisee (Yale University Press).

May his memory be for a blessing!

HT: James Davila and PaleoJudaica.

One thought on “Alan F. Segal: May His Memory Be for a Blessing

  1. His memory is for a blessing. I am so shocked and sad to have just learned of Prof. Segal’s passing in my alumni magazine. To have not seen someone in 20 years and yet to be reduced to sobs upon reading this news, makes it clear that this man touched my heart. He was my favorite college professor. He was funny, and passionate, generous, kind, and brilliant. I have saved all my college papers from his class with his notes, and I will cherish them. One of his books is by my bedside. I loved this man’s unique mind and his beautiful heart, and wish his family my condolences. What a loss.

    Thanks for remembering him and for allowing me to share my thoughts.

    Warm regards,
    Laura Vecchione

Leave a Reply

